Cooking Basics..Everything you need to know about cooking











{August 1, 2010}   Homemade Pop Tarts!

Hey everyone! I haven’t really cooked anything since I’ve been back from sleep-away camp, so I was very excited to hop in the kitchen and crank out some pop tarts. There’s just something about a flaky-buttery pie crust with a strawberry filling. Of course you can play with the fillings, but I liked keeping it simple with some strawberry jam. I tweaked a pie crust recipe from All Recipes, and I was pretty happy with it! Feel free to use your favorite pie crust recipe as well! I found this pie crust VERY easy, unlike most pie crusts I’ve tried, and fun to work with! Now, I did have one little trick up my sleeve to make this crust very flaky. COLD EVERYTHING. The night before, I put the rolling pin in the fridge so it would be nice and cold! However, you can also put it in the freezer (the day of) for about 15 minutes if you don’t have time to prep the night before.  This recipe is very, very easy, just roll out the dough, fill it with jam, and you’re good!  When I made this, it made 3 pop tarts, which was good, but I will double it for you guys! Also, I’m going on vacation tomorrow, so I will be gone for a couple fo days!

Homemade Pop Tarts

Makes: 12 pop tarts

For the dough (adapted from All Recipes)

– 2 1/2 cups flour

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 tb sugar

– 16 tablespoons (2 sticks) butter, cold and cubed

– 1/2 cup water (you may need more)

Filling:

– Strawberry Jam

To Finish:

Egg wash– 1 egg whisked with 1 tsp milk or water

Sugar– 1 tsp for each pop tart

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees,

2. In a meduim bowl whisk flour, salt, and sugar. “Cut” cold butter into mixture. Note: I just used a potato masher! “Cut” until the pieces of butter are very small.

3. Add in 1/2 cup water. The dough will probably need about 1 tablespoon more water, but don’t add until you’ve stireed in the 1/2 cup water and see it needs more water. Put the dough into 2 balls. Place dough in the fridge for 10 minutes, so it can firm up a little.

4. Lightly flour a surface. Form the dough  into a some sort of a rectangle. (See below)

5. Roll out the dough into a rectangle.

6. When you have a rectangle shape, trim off the excess pie pieces so you have a perfect little rectangle.

7. Try to cut equal rectangle, trimming off pieces so the rectangles are equal.

8. Fill each rectangle with a scant 1 tablespoon strawberry filling, if you put anymore, the filling will ooze out!

9. Place one rectangle over each rectangle, and brush with the egg wash and sprinkle over 1 tsp sugar.

9. Bake for 20- 25 minutes.

Happy eating! 🙂

Hi!
I just found your blog, and wanted to tell you that I love it! I’m impressed that you already have a blog at 12.

I’ve seen homemade pop tarts popping up on so many blogs, and yours look delicious!

Adriana



owner says:

Hey Adriana!
Thank you so much for the lovely comment! Sorry for the late reply, I’ve been a bit busy! And your website looks ah-mazing!

Kayla



Leave a Reply

et cetera
