Cooking Basics..Everything you need to know about cooking











{July 10, 2010}   Oatmeal Cookies!

I’ve always a had a special love for oatmeal cookies. Taking a bite into chewy cookies with the warm taste of oatmeal was just heaven! I always hated oatmeal-raisin cookies and oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies, because the oatmeal was never the star! I never liked oatmeal cookies with too much cinnamon, or oatmeal cookies where I could taste the specks of oatmeal. My friend’s mom always made the best oatmeal cookies. Once I asked her what her secret was and she smiled and said “pulsing the oatmeal in a blender until it looks like flour”. I then wanted to make them. But then, I forgot all about them! Until today, when it was a rainy day and I was in the house with my friend and we were watching TV. The perfect thing, I decided, would be oatmeal cookies. I didn’t have a proper recipe for oatmeal cookies, I just knew I would be creaming butter and sugar and pulsing oatmeal in the blender. Enough about these chewy oatmeal cookies that just came out of the oven and taste simply delicious, I’ll tell you how to make these.

And today is my friend Julia’s birthday, so these cookies are named after her!

Julia’s Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

Makes about 17 Cookies

Step 1: Cream 1 stick softened butter with 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar for about 2 minutes or until mixture is well blended and there are no chunks of brown sugar.

Step 2: Add one egg to the mixture and mix. The mixture should look very smooth.

Step 3: In a blender blend about 1 1/3 cup oats. Pour into a large mixing bowl. Now add in 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp baking powder.

Step 4: A little bit at a time, pour flour/oat mixture into the butter mixture. Now you will have a dough that is a tad bit sticky!

Step 5: Using a cookie scooper, scoop out some of the cookie mixture,roll into a little ball, and place on  a grease pan. Make sure you leave plenty of space for the cookies so they have space.

Step 5: Bake at 375 degrees for 8-1o minutes, or until a fork comes out clean.

I’m very excited, because usually for baked goods, I use other people’s recipes, but now, I am NEVER using anyone else’s recipe again!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
