Cooking Basics..Everything you need to know about cooking











{July 5, 2010}   Nutella Ravioli and Pinwheel Carbonara

This the day-after-Fourth-of-July, my friend and I had the cooking bug! We decided to make chocolate-hazelnut ravioli and pinwheel carbonara (I will write about that further down  this post)! The chocolate nutella ravioli was easy to make, all you have to do is fill wonton wrappers with nutella, put water around the edges, fold over, and fry in canola oil! They were very good, and very delicious! It is my version of Giada de Laurentis’ chocolate hazelnut ravioli

First step: Fill the wonton wrappers with nutella (or any other chocoalte-hazelnut filling). Brush water on the edges, and fold over.

Second step: Fry the ravioli’s in canola oil.

Third step: Now they are done!  Put them on a plate with a paper towel to take off grease!

Fourth step: Dust them with powdered sugar and make them look pretty! 🙂

Now for the pinwheel carbonara. It was well, very good! It wasn’t heavy surprisingly and tasted just right! Who knew carbonara is really an egg-based dish (in which the eggs are barely cooked) and not a dish with a base of heavy cream! Shocker, right? Now, here are the steps!

First step: Finely chop 2 leeks and put them in a bowl of water for 10 minutes. This way the sand/grit gets off easily. After they are done with the water bath, put them through a fine sieve so all the water gets out and you don’t loose any bits of leek (s).

Second step: Cook 4 slices of turkey bacon. Leave all the grease. Set aside. Now, cook the leeks in the turkey bacon grease (you may need some olive oil if there isn’t enough grease to coat the leeks). Cook for 5 minutes, or until the leeks or tender. Now crumble pieces of bacon and add them to the leeks.

Third Step: Combine 2 eggs, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, 1 tsp garlic salt, and 1 tsp dried oregano. (Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of this step:)

Fourth Step: Toss in 10 oz pinwheels pasta. Turn off the heat. Now stir in egg mixture (yes, I know barely cooked eggs! My friend said, “Isn’t it like unhealthy to eat pretty much raw egg?” I responsed, “It’s kind of cooked! The cooked pasta, leeks, and turkey bacon, cooks the egg.”)

Have an amazing week everyone! 🙂

I am so excited to find your site today. I think you have a great site and great recipes! I will be back for sure! It’s exciting to find someone in your age group who is so passionate about cooking. From the looks of your site, you are well on your way to being a very accomplished cook!!



owner says:

Thank you so so so so much Danielle! 🙂



owner says:

Hey! I love carbonara as well! I personally think there is not a taste in difference or texture. Turkey bacon may be a little bit more salty then regular bacon, so if you use regular bacon maybe you would add salt to the dish. I used turkey bacon because I always have turkey bacon at home, so that is great for me! So if you want to use regular bacon, go ahead! I have made this before with regular bacon, I only needed to add a little bit of salt to it. Thanks!



Mysteriousgurl101 says:

I LOVE carbonara. I just have one question. When I usually make carbonara I use regular bacon instead of using turkey bacon. Is there a difference in taste. Does it give it a different type of texture. I just really never thought of using turkey bacon.



owner says:

Whoops, looks as if I replied to the wrong comment! Hey! I love carbonara as well! I personally think there is not a taste in difference or texture. Turkey bacon may be a little bit more salty then regular bacon, so if you use regular bacon maybe you would add salt to the dish. I used turkey bacon because I always have turkey bacon at home, so that is great for me! So if you want to use regular bacon, go ahead! I have made this before with regular bacon, I only needed to add a little bit of salt to it. Also, thank you so much, I really REALLY apperciate that! Tell your friends! 🙂



Mysteriousgurl101 says:

WOW!!!!!!! I LOVE YOUR WEBSITE ITS AMAZING!!!! I BOOK MARKED IT AND EVERYTHING!!! IM GONNA VISIT IT VERY VERY VERY OFTEN :D!!!!



THE-0 says:

wow that pasta looks SO good



I just heard about your blog and had to check it out! I used to be a high school teacher and now own a cooking school for kids – you should be very proud of all that you have accomplished so far. I’d love to feature you as a guest blogger on my website – I am trying to inspire families to bring their kids into the kitchen and think you are a perfect example of what can happen when you are encouraged doing something you love! Congrats and I hope to get to know you!
Michelle



owner says:

Hi Michelle–
I’m looking at your blog now, and getting ready to email you! I would love to be a guest blogger for your blog!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
